AS IT HAPPENS…. DAY ONE

IMGP0969IMG_1608IMG_1596

Day One of the As It Happens exhibition.  Live art performances by me for 10-15 minutes, every half hour without fail, and whether or not anyone is watching.

The zippy bag works well.  Offers sanctuary for me, to retreat into, and I don’t have to look at the faces of people watching.  Afterwards Yuen said, “It’s interesting how concealment can facilitate expression”.  Yes – it is interesting, and something I will continue to investigate.

It has been a nerve-wracking day.  Feels good to have done it, though.  A milestone.  First time I’ve ever done this kind of work, solo, in front of an audience.

It’s tiring doing the performances.  Intense concentration.  And there are these moments of collapse, when I’m stuck, overcome with fatigue, and/or losing focus.  Having an audience is harder in some ways, but also good because it helps me keep focused.

Leave a comment